21.5 C
Saturday, June 15, 2024

ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 Prize Money Announced

The Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 will have a prize pool of $10 million, and the champions will receive USD 4 million, according to the International Cricket Council (ICC). The final, which will take place on November 19 at Ahmedabad’s Narendra Modi Stadium, will award the runners-up USD 2 million. The best-performing teams in the competition will receive this as a big incentive.

Rewards are given to teams during the Group Stage in addition to the top two teams. Teams will receive USD 40,000 for each win in the Group Stage. As a result, the competition is made more attractive as teams compete to win and receive financial compensation in every game.

A significant step toward achieving gender equality in cricket was made by the ICC when it decided to award equal prize money for men’s and women’s competitions at the upcoming ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup in 2025. This declaration was made at the ICC Annual Conference in July 2023 in Durban, South Africa.

Overall, the ICC’s decision is a huge and encouraging step forward for women’s cricket, supporting diversity, gender equality, and giving female cricketers a chance to thrive on a global stage.

The breakdown of prize money:

StageRate US$Total US$
Winner (1)4,000,0004,000,000
Runner-up (1)2,000,0002,000,000
Losing Semi-Finalist (2)800,0001,600,000
Teams’ eliminated after group stage (6)100,000600,000
Winner of each group stage match (45)40,0001,800,000
Total 10,000,000

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Articles